This year's CWA Ellis Peters Dagger for the best historical crime novel has been won by Andrew Taylor for his book The American Boy, published by Flamingo. It is the second time Andrew has won the award. The announcement was made by the chair of the judges' panel, Susanna Yager, at a reception at the Savoy in London. The award of £3,000 is sponsored by the estate of the late Ellis Peters, Headline and Time Warner. The Dagger will be presented at the CWA annual awards lunch on Thursday 13 November.
The other shortlisted titles were:
Tom Bradby - The White Russian - Bantam Press

Marcello Fois - The Advocate - Harvill Press

Lee Jackson - London Dust - Arrow

Gillian Linscott - Blood on the Wood - Virago

C.J. Sansom - Dissolution - Macmillan

Olen Steinhauer- The Bridge of Sighs - Heinemann
{short description of image}
Nominees LR - Lee Jackson, Marcello Fois,Gillian Linscott,
Andrew Taylor, Olen Steinhauer & Tom Bradby
{short description of image}
Andrew silenced - just for a few seconds!
{short description of image}
Andrew and Sussana Yagar
{short description of image}
Andrew and George Harding
{short description of image}
CWA Chairperson, Hilary Bonner & Sussanna Yager
{short description of image}
The nominees put the boot in!
Photos © Mike Stotter & SHOTS Magazine.
{short description of image}