Little Sister

Written by Isabel Ashdown

Review written by Karen Boyle

Karen spent 30+ years as a Civil Servant, mostly in Revenue which is where she developed my absolute hatred of poor writing skills! Her favourite genre is now crime/thriller/police procedural/legal genre with the occasional foray into chick-lit and general fiction.


Little Sister
Trapeze
RRP: £7.99
Released: July 27, 2017
Pbk

It seems that sisters, separated for various reasons and then reunited is the theme of the majority of psychological thrillers nowadays which has become rather boring so I was not expecting very much from this story.

The good sister, Jessica, is babysitting Emily, the bad sister’s baby, Daisy. When Emily and her husband return from a party they find baby Daisy has been abducted and Jess is out cold on the floor covered in blood. While the story follows the investigation, much of the story focus is on the sisters and their history, which is told in flashback.

Although the sisters relationship was somewhat predictable the story itself was not and the author did bring something different to the theme with some terrific twists and well developed characters; the cast of characters was kept small and they were all interesting characters; the writing flowed very well and it was very easy to read.

Despite my misgivings I was gripped from early on and was thoroughly unprepared for the twists at the end. All in all a great read which will appeal to fans of Paula Hawkins, Into The Water.



Home
Book Reviews
Features
Interviews
News
Columns
Authors
Competitions
Blog
Shop
About Us
Contact Us

Privacy Policy | Contact Shots Editor

THIS WEBSITE IS © SHOTS COLLECTIVE. NOT TO BE REPRODUCED ELECTRONICALLY EITHER WHOLLY OR IN PART WITHOUT PRIOR PERMISSION OF THE EDITOR.