THE FATAL TOUCH

Written by Conor Fitzgerald

Review written by Adam Colclough

Adam Colclough lives and works in the West Midlands, he writes regularly for a number of websites, one day he will get round to writing a book for someone else to review.


THE FATAL TOUCH
Bloomsbury
RRP: £11.99
Released: 4th April 2011
Hbk

The dead body of an elderly man is found on Rome’s Piazza De’ Renzi, just another old drunk who took one tumble too many. Hardly the sort of case to merit the interest of Commissioner Alec Blume, until it emerges that the old man was a gifted art forger with connections to people in high places who want Blume’s investigation over before it has even begun.

Conor Fitzgerald’s second novel set on the mean piazzas of Rome is a treat for fans of Donna Leon and Michael Dibdin, to both of whom he has attracted favourable comparisons.

Fitzgerald writes with authority about the corruption that permeates life in the eternal city, compromising everyone it touches. Here it takes the shape of a senior Carabiniere officer who has manipulated the people in his power for decades, making a fortune from forged works of art and destroying the lives of everyone who crosses his path.

The sections of the book dealing with the tricks of the art forgery trade are entirely convincing and often touching in the way they describe a considerable artistic talent corrupted before it was fully formed. There is also no shortage of thrills and a satisfyingly ambiguous conclusion.

This is an astoundingly assured novel from a writer who knows how to use the unique atmosphere of modern Italy to provide fascinating local colour and in Alec Blume has created a leading character who is able to observe the dark heart of his city from an outsider’s perspective whilst being inextricably linked to it.

my girl friend cheated on me husband cheat online
i dream my husband cheated on me why do wife cheat how many women cheat on husbands
online click here what to do when husband cheats
website beautiful women cheat women who cheat on husbands
online click here why women cheat on men
unfaithful wives how many guys cheat go
married looking to cheat women who cheat on husband link
spyware for mobile phones cell phone spyware app free phone spy app
why do wife cheat rixgroup.com all wives cheat
rx discount pharmacy free discount prescription cards print free coupons
walgreens pharmacy coupons new prescription maray.nl coupon pharmacy
propranolol 40mg sumatriptan diflucan 200mg
viagra 200mg apeoholic.se thyroxine
free prescription drug discount card damske.com cvs online coupon
kamagra fitness.markmcgookin.com thyroxine
2016 viagra coupon site coupon for free viagra
prescription drugs coupons viagra 2016 coupon coupon for free viagra
can i take motrin and tylenol link can i take motrin and tylenol
free cialis coupons blog.idilbaby.com free coupon for cialis
bystolic coupon mckesson forest laboratories patient assistance
prescription discounts cards read free prescription discount cards
coupon for bystolic read forest patient assistance
diabetes mellitus treatment click 10mg cialis dosage
cialis savings and coupons cialis coupon 2015 free cialis coupon 2016
cialis.com coupon is-aber.net free discount prescription card
free prescription drug discount card cialis coupon cialis savings and coupons
free prescription cards discount martialinfo.com prescription coupon
dexamethasone suppression test dexamethasone suppression test dexamethasone mechanism of action in cancer
voltaren wirkstoff voltaren forte voltaren nebenwirkungen
prescriptions coupons cialis prescription coupon cialis free sample coupons
abortion pill stories second trimester abortion anti abortion facts
xarelto prix xarelto compendium xarelto prix
amoxicillin antibiyotik fiyat albayraq-uae.com amoxicillin antibiyotik fiyat
cialis coupons 2015 free coupon for cialis cialis free coupon
pharmacy exam coupon code coupon for free rx coupons
addiyan chuk chuk addyi addyi menopause
pro abortion abortion pill quotes third trimester abortion pill
abortion price achrom.be abortion pill cost
amoxicillin nedir amoxicillin nedir amoxicillin al 1000
cialis coupons free drug prescription card 2015 cialis coupon
what is an abortion clinic rftrack.net where to do abortion
naltrexone fibromyalgia side effects avonotakaronetwork.co.nz ldn for ulcerative colitis
naltrexone how long does it last click ldn colitis


Home
Book Reviews
Features
Interviews
News
Columns
Authors
Competitions
Blog
Shop
About Us
Contact Us

Privacy Policy | Contact Shots Editor

THIS WEBSITE IS © SHOTS COLLECTIVE. NOT TO BE REPRODUCED ELECTRONICALLY EITHER WHOLLY OR IN PART WITHOUT PRIOR PERMISSION OF THE EDITOR.