SCARECROW AND THE ARMY OF THIEVES

Written by Matthew Reilly

Review written by Adam Colclough

Adam Colclough lives and works in the West Midlands, he writes regularly for a number of websites, one day he will get round to writing a book for someone else to review.


SCARECROW AND THE ARMY OF THIEVES
Orion
RRP: £16.99
Released: 2nd February 2012
Hbk

A terrorist group calling itself the Army of Thieves captures Dragon Island, a long forgotten relic of the Cold War and the site of a devastating super weapon built by the Soviets. This is bad news for just about everyone, because the Thieves want to use said super weapon to violently re-shape the world order. Only maverick marine Shane ‘Scarecrow’ Schofield relocated to the Arctic and assigned to a scientific testing detail after a little local difficulty with the French secret services can save the day.

 

Matthew Reilly seems to take what you might call a ‘Spinal Tap’ approach to creating his books, where other writers turn the action dial up to ten he has to go one better and turn it to eleven; that’s probably what makes them so infectiously readable.

 

Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves is action-adventure writing in the tradition of Alistair MacLean and Clive Cussler. A violent fantasy world where villainy is something plotted on an epic scale and the only way the good guys escape from trouble is by a hair’s breadth.

 

Some readers might not take to that sort of thing because it is too escapist for their tastes, if so they’re making a big mistake. This is a thoroughly well written book, not despite; but precisely because its author is unashamedly out to entertain.

 

Matthew Reilly shows a truly remarkable ability for finding brutally inventive uses for high tech weaponry and devising ever tighter corners for his little band of heroes to escape from. The sheer energy with which he keeps things moving along prevented this reader from asking too many awkward ‘yes but’ questions about the plot until it had involved me to the point where I no longer much wanted to ask them.

 

Reilly has created a cast of hugely likable recurring characters and in this book lays down the seeds of plot twists and friendly rivalries that could run and run. This book is the work of a writer who is clearly having a ball; any reader willing to come along for the ride is likely to have one too.

order abortion pill online abortion pill buy abortion pills online
buy abortion pill read abortion pill online purchase
my girl friend cheated on me link online
reasons why women cheat on their husbands open what to do when husband cheats
married looking to cheat unfaithful wives link
spy on phones best spyware for android cell phones phone tracking app
letter to husband who cheated femchoice.org why men cheat on beautiful women
discount prescription osgtool.com walgreen online coupons
internet drug coupons modelosguayaquil.com coupons for viagra
abortion at 10 weeks click abortion papers
prescription discounts cards manufacturer coupons for prescription drugs free prescription discount cards
information on abortion read abortion hotline
abortion costs how expensive is an abortion birth control
cialis savings and coupons link free cialis coupon 2016
risperdal eureka williamgonzalez.me risperdal eureka
free prescription cards discount cialis free coupon prescription coupon
pill for abortion abortion pills costs of abortion
aborted babies click elective abortion
cialis.com coupons achrom.be cialis discount coupons online
pill abortion bangzontheweb.com abortion pill definition
vermox 100mg by-expression.com vermox 100mg
abortion pill stories the abortion pill anti abortion facts
pharmacy exam coupon code alpinmontservis.cz rx coupons
acetazolamide spc guitar-frets.com acetazolamide
electric vacuum aspiration alsarayabahrain.bh where can i have an abortion
pro abortion abortion pill quotes third trimester abortion pill
viagra torta viagra viagra helyett
abortion pill free abortions methods of abortion pill
dr bihari ldn skydtsgaard.dk naltrexone low dose depression
naldrexone ldn and ulcerative colitis who can prescribe naltrexone
low dose naltrexone allergies go naltrexone 50 mg tablet
revia medication reviews link drinking on naltrexone
naltrexone mechanism house.raupes.net ldn for ulcerative colitis


Home
Book Reviews
Features
Interviews
News
Columns
Authors
Competitions
Blog
Shop
About Us
Contact Us

Privacy Policy | Contact Shots Editor

THIS WEBSITE IS © SHOTS COLLECTIVE. NOT TO BE REPRODUCED ELECTRONICALLY EITHER WHOLLY OR IN PART WITHOUT PRIOR PERMISSION OF THE EDITOR.